The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The opinion mentioned in the letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine states that considering a money required for safety of astronauts we should invest money and resources in unmanned space flight. In order to verify above argument's credibility author has to answer following three question.

Firstly, as the author mentioned unmanned space flight gather a great deal of useful informantion but does that informantion valid? there may be machine errors involved and no human was present at that place to validate it. For example, during 1999, there was unammned spacecraft sent by india called brahmastra. Which bring information regarding mars planet. Later during 2010, manned space craft visited mars then the previously information brought by unmanned space craft found to be invalid. Hence, considering this scenario author's contention does not hold a water.

Secondly, how much constly is manned space craft than unmanned? once author provide this cost difference. If cost difference is 10% to 20% range it may be considered as negligible and we can use manned space craft. So, authors opinion failed to provide detials.

Finally, author mentioned manned spacecrafts are dangerous. Does manned spcae craft does not any safety system? instead of developing multiple unmanned space craft it is always better to develop single manned space craft with full safety which will provide valid information from space and bring austronauts back to home safely.

In conclusion, author has to answer above three question in order to prove his opions credibility.