The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly im

At first glance, the author provides a reasonable case for Acme to purchase the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course for its employees. Upon closer inspection, many of his supporting arguments are actually assumptions that might not be based in fact. The facts underlying these assumptions must be evaluated in order to determine whether the prescribed course of action is appropriate.

First, the author assumes the veracity of the testimonials provided by other companies in favor of the Easy Read course, and that these touted benefits are applicable to Acme. He vaguely says that many other companies stated that the Easy Read Speed Reading Course improved productivity, but he provides no evidence to back their claims. Other companies are unlikely to admit that their expenditures were erroneous, so response bias indicates that satisfied companies are more likely to discuss the course. Many companies who participated might not have seen these benefits, and therefore opted not to mention it. Concrete evidence is necessary. Furthermore, the author assumes the relevance of these testimonials without specifying the identities of these companies. These other firms might be in entirely different industries from Acme Publishing Company. Positive results for an engineering company do not necessarily indicate that employees of a publishing company would reap similar benefits from such a course.

Furthermore, the author assumes that individual case studies are indicative of the overall efficacy of the speed reading program. He cites that one graduate successfully read a 500-page report in two hours, and that another graduate had a meteoric rise form assistant manager to vice president of a company in under a year. He provides no indication that these successes can be attributed to the speed reading course they took. The graduates could have been fully capable of performing these feats before taking the course, therefore rendering their participation irrelevant. Further, the success of two individuals is not indicative of a typical outcome from taking a speed reading course.

Statistics indicating improved metrics of performance for a larger population are necessary to make an informed decision about the benefits and effectiveness of the proposed speed-reading course.

Finally, the author assumes that if these potential benefits hold, then registering for the course is an economically sound decision. There is no indication that a potential increase in productivity would yield monetary returns of more than the requisite $500 per employee. The author also justifies this claim by mentioning the inclusion of a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Allowing employees to take three weeks of vacation time to participate in this seminar is unlikely to yield three weeks of increased productivity over an employee's tenure at Acme, if this time off is even feasible in Acme's circumstances. Likewise, he provides no indication that the newsletter would be beneficial to the employees.

The author of the argument provides support for his conclusion only in the form of assumptions. There is no empirical evidence to suggest that testimonials by other companies are accurate or relevant, that the majority of people who take the course see concrete benefits, or that the decision to purchase this course for employees is fiscally sound. Without further evidence in support of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, purchasing admission for employees is not justifiable.