The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in newsletter that due to cold people remain absent from their workplace and school as it is most common reason given on absente. West Meria Public Health Council recommends the daily use of Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil, to prevent cold and lower absenteeism. Additionally, they also support argument by stating study report which conclude that place where fish consumption is more there people visit the doctor only once or twice a year for treatment of cold. However, before working on this recommendation some question must be answer.

To begin with, how many people will like to consume Ichthaid as it is derived from fish oil? As there are many type of people some are pure vegetarian and some are non-vegetarian, non-vegetarian type of people will not have any problem to consume it but vegetarian people will abstain it and they might even oppose it. Some vegetarian people are so sensitive that they cannot bare the smell of non-veg food in such situation they will not like to work at their work place. For example, if a vegetarian person is sitting with non-vegetarian person for a lunch in a break and if this person sees his friend taking this supplement which is derived from fish oil, he will not like that and he may even go empty stomach. If this happens to be true than this idea of giving Ichthaid to everyone don’t hold water and it fails in such situation.

Secondly, have you consider geographical location and climate of East Meria before coming to conclusion that due to more fish consumption people don’t go to doctor for treatment of cold? In this case geographical location and climate plays important role in human health. Maybe climate of East Meria is good for human health so less number of peoples are getting ill and due to this less number of peoples are visiting doctor for cold. For example, climate and environment of East Meria is clean, pollution rate is low and there are more number of trees so oxygen level is also high in such healthy environment it is blatant that less number of people will fall ill. If this case is true than study report which says that consuming more fish prevent cold is false.

Finally, why you think that cold is the only reason of remains absent? There may be many other reasons due to which people at their workplace and school are remaining absent. For example, due to other illness such as fever, cough, stomach or head ache people are remaining absent and this Ichthaid cannot cure all this illness. If this is true then it seems profligate to invest time and money on this fish oil supplements.

In conclusion, if the question stated above is answered then it would strengthen the argument and recommendation would be revaluated.