The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the south-western United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It is stated in the memorandum that, butter has been replaced by the margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurant. Additionally it is stated that, by this action only 2% of customer has complained which is 2 out of 100 people. Furthermore, those who ask for butter and provided with margarine instead have no complain. However, before coming to conclusion that customers are happy some question must be answer.

To begin with, what if customer directly shifts to other restaurant instead of complaining? Or what if other customer did not take effort to complain but they are not satisfied? Maybe, many customers have shifted to another restaurant and they thought its waste of time complaining so only 2% of people complain. It is blatant that all customers will not call and complain about the food quality. As feedback back was not taken by the restaurant about their food quality after making some changes so it plausible that conclusion drawn from this that only 2% customers has complained means 98% has liked the quality of food does not hold any water.

Moreover, what if customer knows that they were given margarine instead of butter? Or what if customer has decided not to order anything else from this restaurant again so they have not complained? Maybe, customer knows that they were given margarine instead of butter and they are so disappointed that they have decided not to order anything from this restaurant again. In this case it is blatant that customer will not take efforts to call and give feedback or complain. If this happens to be true than it will exacerbate the situation and in long run restaurant will be debacle.

Finally, what if customer knows difference between butter and margarine? Maybe, customer has thought that some armature has made mistake by putting margarine instead of butter. In this case it is plausible that majority of customers will not complain thinking that this is a mistake. But if this is banal then customer may get disappointed and they may stop ordering from the Happy Pancake House restaurant. If this happens to be true than restaurant will experience major debacle and it may exacerbate the situation.

In conclusion, the evidence provided by the arguer, that supports his claim, is dubious as well as erroneous. However, if all questions are answer and more evidence is provided then it will strengthen the argument.