The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is stated in the prompt that, home owners are eager to conserve energy and at the same time new home appliances such as refrigerators, air conditioners are coming in market which consume more energy but at the same time new technology such as battery home insulation and passive solar heating is also available to reduce energy. Consideration of all points new generating plant is not needed. However, before recommendation can properly evaluate some question must be answer.

To begin with, how many people are buying home insulation and passive solar heating as compare to new refrigerators and air conditioners? May be cost of solar heating and home insulation is more so less number of people are buying this technology as compare to refrigerators and air conditioners. Even maintenance cost of solar heating is more than refrigerator. If this happens to be true than sell of refrigerator and air conditioners are more than solar heating and home insulation. Maybe this will result in more power consumption in feature and maybe three electric generating plants in operation from past twenty years will not able to bolster new need and it will become blatant to construct new generation plant to full fill the need.

Moreover, what if population increase? Or what if more people starting moving in that area for better life? Or what if new industry establish in this area? If more people move in or if the population increases it is blatant that they will bring their own electric appliances with them. If new industries come into the picture than it is for sure that it will require lots of electric energy to work. If this happens to be true then consumption of electricity will burgeon. In this case three electric generation plants are not sufficient maybe more than four electric generation plants are needed which will exacerbate the situation.

Finally, what if new technology comes in market which required more energy? As the world is advancing day by day new technology are taking birth to make life of humans easy. If such technology comes in market it will entice more people to buy and it may increase the power consumption. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn from original argument does not hold any water.

In conclusion, evidence provided is dubious and erroneous. If all above question are answers and more evidences are provided it will strengthen argument.