The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt says that, the surest indicator of the greatest nation is represented by general welfare of people instead of its achievements of ruler, artists, or scientists. In my not so humble opinion, I agree with the statement that greatest nation in represented by the general welfare of its people.

To begin with, general welfare of people tells us the nature of the people leaving in that country. If people in certain country are more involve in general welfare it shows their kindness and politeness. From this other nation can conclude that this country is friendlier and piece loving. For instance, in India there are many kind of religion and many kinds of people everyone have their own teachings but most common teaching is general welfare. Here people are always ready to help each other and more friendly so in whole world in spite of having world’s 6th largest army India is known as peace loving country.

However, achievements of great ruler, artists or scientist plays small role in forming the greatest nation but it does not make nation great. A great nation is represented by people living in that nation because nation is not only created by ruler, artist or scientist. Nation is build by the people living there. If people living in that nation is kind, humble, peace loving etc. Then that nation is said to be a great the nation. But on the other hand people living in certain nation are rude, violent than that nation not great nation even though that nation holds many achievements of ruler, artist or scientist. For instance, there are some nations who allow terrorist to leave within them; they support all activities of terrorist and in return terrorist plan death trap on neighbouring country. Such nations are not great nation.

Furthermore, by doing general welfare it shows that people of that nation are helping or bolstering their government in every possible way to work more efficiently and by doing so they are indirectly fostering the their government. For instance, there are many organization establish to help poor people or to give education to poor people they even provide health supplies, food, water to those people who need it when government fail to reach to them. This show kindness and humbleness of people living in that nation and such people plays important role in making nation great.

In conclusion, indicator of greatest nation is represented by nature and general welfare of the people more than the achievements of ruler, artist or scientist.