The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is stated in the application made by the vice president that, electronic monitoring should be implied at work station to keep an eye on each and every employee internet activity. Additionally, he support the argument by stating that by doing so we can punish the employ who is wasting time and this may lead to burgeon the company’s profit. However, before recommendation can be properly evaluated, some question must be answer.

To begin with, how much it will cost to install this software in each and every system? Or how much time it will take? As there are more than a thousand systems in the company it is byzantine to install this software to each and every system. Even if we plan to install software, it may be time consuming and it may lead to debacle as our company uses many internet based software. If this happens to be true then it is just wasting of time and money and this may even attenuate the company work. By considering all this recommendation made by the vice president, does not hold any water.

Moreover, what if employees don’t like the idea of this software? Or what if employee gets angry on this idea of installing this software? If employees feel that this software is undermining their freedom or privacy then they might get angry or disappointed and its blatant that if the employee is not happy with his/her job than he/she will not work to his/her full potential. This may leads debacle to the company. If this happens to be true than employee will not like to work at this company and they will shift to some other company where they will get some freedom and privacy which will lead to the huge loose to company. By considering all this recommendation made by the vice president seems to be undermining.

Finally, what if by installing this software employs work pressure increases? Or what if employees work load increases? If employees work pressure increases then it may effect on his/her job and it is plausible that his/her performance may decrease and he/she may become more aggressive. If, this happens to be true then company may face major loss. As, employee is the most important part of company taking his/her care is the first priority of any company. By considering all this conclusion drawn from recommendation is weaken.

In conclusion, recommendation made by the vice president, that support his claim, dubious as well as erroneous. If, all above question are answer then it may strengthen the argument.