The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Memo from the director of large group of hospital suggest to use UltraClean hand soap at all hand washing station, including those used by visitors, throughout the hospital. As UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent of greater reduction in harmful bacteria and during the recent test they have found fewer cases of patient in hospital. However, before this recommendation can properly evaluate some question must be answer.

To begin with, maybe recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Work-town, the hospital have nothing to do with number cases? It is possible that number of cases is reduced because there is no climatic change from past few weeks or maybe people have become self conscious about their health. If we consider that due to UltraClean hand soap number of cases are getting low than why this hand soap is not able to cure rest of the patient in hospital.

Secondly, what will be the cost of this new hand soap? Maybe, this hand soap is more effective so its cost will be higher and providing such costly hand soap everywhere is not possible. As it may affect on our yearly budget. Maybe, people will not feel comfortable to use soap instead of hand wash as soap comes in direct contact with many hands. If we consider that soap is cost efficient than people in this hospital may not like idea of replacing hand wash with soap.

Finally, on how many various kinds of bacteria this UltraClean hand soap was tested? Maybe result carried out in laboratory is on limited bacteria which are not present in the hospital. If this happens to be true than replacing hand wash with this UltraClean hand soap at every station makes no sense. It may turn out to be wastage of resources, time and money.

In conclusion, providing UltraClean hand soap at every station in hospital may not be a good idea. If director provide more evidence, answer to all above questions and carry out survey on this than this case can be overlook.