The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is stated in the memo that, 30 percent accidents have increased in the Quiot Manufacturing compare to Panoply Industry plant. To reduce accident they have decided to reduce each of three week shift by one hour on the bases of evidences that expert gave that, significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. However, before taking action on this memo some plausible question must be answer.

To begin with, Quiot Manufacturing works on what kind of project? Or what is the risk factor of the job in Quiot Manufacturing? Maybe, Quiot Manufacturing work on hard ware tools and Panoply Industry work of some other projects like food, medicine etc which don’t required any kind of heavy tools, in this case it plausible that number of accidents in Quiot Manufacturing is more than Panoply Industry. In Quiot Manufacturing risk factor is high as they are working on hardware which includes sharp tools and heavy machinery so it is blatant that their risk of accident in more as compare to Panoply Industry.

In addition, what is the job description of majority of workers working in Quiot Manufacturing compare to Panoply Industry? Maybe Job at the Quiot Manufacturing is more of a physical work as compare to Panoply Industry. In this case it is blatant that workers at Quiot Manufacturing will get tired more easily by both mentally and physically which may lead to debacle and cause accidents. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn from the memo to shorten each of the three work shift by one hour does not hold water because workers may required more break and more advance machinery to burgeon the production of the company.

Finally, what is the status of equipment's used in Quiot Manufacturing as compare to Panoply Industry? Maybe equipment used in Quiot is outdated and damaged which required urgent maintains on the other hand equipment's used in the Panoply Industry are brand new and modern which makes workers work easy. If this is true than it is plausible that accident cases are more in Quiot compare to Panoply Industry. If this happens to be true than Quiot need to change their equipment's to make workers work easy and to burgeon the productivity of the Quiot or it will lead to debacle and it may also exacerbate.

In conclusion, the evidence provided in the memo to support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. If all above question are answer and more evidence are provided then it will strengthen the argument.