Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claims is based.

When there is life there is will. Prompt suggest that nation should suspend government funding for arts when significant number of their citizen are hungry or unemployed. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and the reason given to it that It is inappropriate and, perhaps, even cruel to use public resources to fund the art when people’s basic need are not being met for the following reasons.

To begin with, what is the use of the art when people are hungry and unemployed? Art should be given second preference after people’s life. It is blatant that if there are no people than there will be no one to praise the art. If people are dying due to hunger and employment then this shown status of that government. For instance, one can exemplify if government if funding more towards the art when there is huge number of unemployment and people are hungry than that government is not capable to run nation. First priority of every government is to look after their people and when all basic needs are fulfilled than they should work on other problems.

However, if government is ignoring people’s basic need than that government is in debacle and next time people will not vote for that government again. People pays their taxes only because they trust government that it will complete or provide them with basic need. But, if the government is wasting their money on unnecessary things then it is exacerbating the situation. For instance, if any government is doing so, people will start opposing that government and they will even start riots.

If government is indirectly forcing people to go bed hungry then it will increase crime cases in that nation.

Furthermore, if people are unemployed and hungry they will start doing illegal business to earn money and fill their family stomach. If this happens to be true then crime rate in that nation will burgeon and reputation of that nation in front of whole world will be collapse. Due to unemployment more people will go into the depression and frustration which will increase the number of suicide cases in that nation. It can be only avoided by fulfilling the basic needs of the people and for good government nothing is important than the life of the people.

To sum up, government should foster people’s basic needs. It should first focus on people’s need than it should invest funds on other things like arts because an art is also important but not important than people’s life and their basic needs.