The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claim made by the marketing department of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that the past year saw a decrease in the number of people attending the movies produced by them along with a increase in the percentage of positive reviews about their movies. The recommendation of increasing their budget for advertising cannot be solely based on this claim.

The increase in the percentage of positive reviews is relative as it is based on the total number of people that watched the movies. The decrease in the total number of people attending the movies suggests that only the true and genuine fans or the lovers of the production company watched the movies which in turn implies that these fans would obviously give positive reviews about the movies. Hence the company cannot conclude that the problem lies not with their movies but with lack of awareness of the public. The questions that can be raised here are, Did the production company change or experiment with a different genre of movies in the past year? Did they get any negative reviews in the past year about the quality or genre of their movies? Did any other new production company take a huge leap and become popular among the audience? The company should consider surveying the audience and getting feedback from their prospective viewers about the movies they produced in the past year.

Did the audience find any faults in the movies? Were the prospective viewers satisfied with the quality of the movies? The company can even check in with the advertising department to find any changes in their scheme or pattern over the period of last few years. Did the advertising department change the format or pattern of advertising? Did the advertising team change their mode of advertising?

The answer to all these questions may help the company in finding the actual reason behind the decreased number of viewers. The company can then evaluate and ponder upon the new schemes that they can put into action for increasing their audience. The feedback from the audience would help the company to know the interests of the audience and the company can then produce the movies of a genre that is in demand among the various age group of audience. It is often said that "The consumer is the king" and hence in the entertainment sector as well the audience is the king and the ultimate decision maker. Hence rather than basing their decision just based on the comparison of previous and current statistics, the company should rather focus on surveying their target audience to find out the actual reason.

The company should hence work on finding the other probable reasons and then come to a decision so as to benefit the company to a greater extent and win over the hearts of their lost audience anf gain back their prospective viewers.