The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The claim made here suggests that instilling the quality of cooperation and team work in the youth of the world is a must for giving the world better leaders not just in some specific domain but in all the aspects of life. I agree to the claim made here as the main characteristic of a true leader is the spirit of working together and getting the best out of the team by motivating them.

"United we rise, Divided we fall" is a very apt saying in the context of the claim. One should focus on cooperating with others and working together towards a better future not just for oneself but for the entire humankind. The biggest virtue in a human is the virtue of respecting others' opinions and being openminded towards the views of others. A company can reach greater heights of success if and only if all the members of the various departments work in cooperation with each other rather than competing with each other. A team of football can win the match only if all the players of the team work with the mindset of playing for the team and competing with the opponents and giving their best as a whole rather than competing amongst themselves. The mindset of the youth needs to be changed so as to instill in them the sense of working and making efforts for the entire humankind rather than being selfish and just thinking about their personal benefit. The world out there needs more loving and kind people and leaders making efforts towards making the world a better place to live for the entire humankind.

However, the quality of competetiveness is also a necessary virtue so that each individual strives to do their best and provide the best they can to their surroundings. The quality of competetiveness is only useful when its healthy, unhealthy competition among the students, leaders or people in any field can prove to be harmful in some or the other way. An unhealthy competition of marks or being the top student among the students can give rise to feelings of envy and jealousy which prove to be few of the worst qualities a person can possess. A healthy competition however, can allow the students to make use of their potential to the fullest and allows each of the student to excel in their life.

The qualities of cooperation and competitiveness are both necessary among the youth, but along with that the sense of knowing when the competition turns unhealthy is also equally necessary. Also cooperation can also sometimes lead to the person or the team becoming overly dependent on one another, which has its own disadvantages. Hence any quality or virtue in excess is harmful. The youth should be taught about each of the qualities along with the knowledge and skill to maintain a balance among all of the qualities. A leader has all the virtues and also a sense of maintaining a balance among them.