The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company suggested that in order reach the public more the Company should allocate more of it's budget to advertising. He comes to this conclusion based a recent report from marketing department. The director could be true in suggesting allocation of more budged to advertisement, however, as it stands now the conclusion is based on three unwaranted assumption which significantly hinders it's credibilty.

First of all, the director assumes that the report is done in a scientific manner, but this might not be true. It is possible that the people who were making this report took the information of spectator in the survey for a single day and recorded it as for the whole year. It is also possible that the people has collected data from a single cinema hall and recorded it as a indicative of all the hall of the country. If either of the scenarios above are true, the the author recommendation that production company allocate more of it's share to advertising doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the author presumes that past year was not an anomaly, but this might not be true. It is possible that due to the economic recession, people of the country, in past year has lost a significant ammount of money and as result they did not go to the cinema hall due to lack of money. It is also possible that last year there was a virus out break in country and it discouraged people to go to cinema hall to watch movie. If either of the scenarios have credibilty, then the director recommendation that the production company should allocate more budget on it's advertising is significantly flawed.

Finally, the director presumes that percentage value are indicative of absolute value, but this might not be true. It is possible that last year 2 milion people have watched the cinema and and 1.5 milion of the people did not report any thing and and only half milion reported and among the half milion more than 50% reported positive review and rest reported neutral. It is true in that case more than 50% of reviewer reported positively. It is also possible that the reporters who did not report it did no not like it at all. If this is true then the author recommendaiton to allocate more budget on its advertisement is considerably weakened.

In conclusion, the director may be correct in recommending more of it's budget in adverstisement. However, as it stand now. it rests on three unwaranted question which weakens the persuasiveness of his argument. If the author is able to provide answer to this above mentioned question it will bolster his argument.