The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In the memo, the director of student of Buckingham college concluded that the Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories to meet the increasing demand of the students. He comes to this conclusion based on report indicating increase in the enrollment and living cost outside the campus. As it stands now, the director contention might be true, however, the director needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence to bolster its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the current trend is going to continue over the next 50 years. But this might not be true. Perhaps there will be an economic recession in coming years and this recession will significantly affect people's ability to spend money on education as they will not have enough money. Additionally it is also possible that there will be emergence of a new College in the next 50 years; and as a result people will also get admitted to that college which will eventually reduce the enrollment in Buckingham college. If either of the scenario is true, then the author assumption doesn't hold water.

Moreover, the author assumes that students will not be able to pay the rent for the apartment. Perhaps this might not be true. It is very much possible that students studying in the college comes from a very wealthy family and willing to pay a lot for education. Additionally it is also possible that, students who study in the college into the various department comes from the different town of the country. So when the cost of renting is increased, it is not going to affect the students who come from different part of country. If the above mentioned scenario is true, then the author assumption is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that no other factor other than dormitories attracts the students in the college. But this is might not be the case. It possible that students priorotize education over dormitory. If the college education is not upto to the mark, then the students will not be enrolled to the students just because it has attractive new good dormitory. Additionally, it is also possible that there is another college in the town that already has good dormitory facilities with cheap cost. If it is true then students will not be attracted fully to only this college, they will be attracted to other college to. If this scenario is true then the author contention is flawed.

In the conclusion, the director may be correct in concluding about building new dormitories in the Buckingham college. However as it stands now, the conclusion rests on three unwarantted assumption which hinders its validity. If the author provides answers to the above the question, it would increase the persuasiveness of his argument.