Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children.

Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although many people argue that paid work is advantageous for children, other people consider that it is detrimental for children. In my opinion, I think that paid work can bring more drawbacks than any positive impact it have on children.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefit that paid work has on children. Firstly, it teaches children about the value of money. Students get to know that money doesn’t come from tree and they have to work hard for earning it. Secondly, another basic advantage that it have on children is that children learn to manage money in an effective way. With limited amount of income from work, children have to meet their high demand which requires managing of money in effective way. Limited amount of income gives them the opportunity to manage the money in an effective way.

Nevertheless, despite the basic benefit it students could face serious drawback when doing paid work. On side of issue is that children are exposed to the child labor. Since children who are doing child work are not protected by labor law, the employer can pay them less than their counterparts while doing the same amount of work. Another side of the issue is that it distracts their academic life. Students have to do multiple task at a time and as a result they are unable to concentrate on their academic life hence they cut a sorry figure in the exam.

To conclude, being exploited at the workplace and struggling in academic life outweighs any of the benefit that paid work has on children.