The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

It is very human nature that from the beginning of the world that people loves the luxury and convenience in life. The prompt argue about this issue and claims that luxuries and convenience in life hinders a people to become a strong independent individual human being. I mostly disagree with the prompt for following reason which I will outline below. However, I do concede that there are a few cases which suggest that luxury and convenience has a negative effect on the development of human.

To begin, Luxury and convenience of modern life enable people more time for focusing on his other work and developing better individual. For instance, in the hunting and gathering society people’s main job was to collect food and eat it and again look for food because they were not able to store food. At that time people was busy was only for the collection of food, and eating it. As a result they was not able to concentrate on other work such as art, literature, science etc. When people developed a method for cultivating food, they move toward the practice of art, science and literature and made many of discoveries on those field. The luxuries of life helped people to concentrate on other job and enabled them to develop themselves.

Furthermore, luxury and convenience of life reduces stress on people and keeps them in good mental condition and which helps them to work efficiently in working time. For instance, in modern day we can see the luxuries of life from morning until night. Our day start with cooking food for breakfast with the help of modern cooker, we travel by to our workplace by car and sleep home under air conditioned room. This life’s luxuries helped us to stay in good mental shape and we can concentrate better on our work while we are working. Imagine a man doing all of these using previously used technologies, will it be possible than for the people work efficiently on other work? Most people will say it wouldn’t.

Admittedly, I do agree that Luxury and convenience of life have made people lazy at times. For example due to the advancement of modern technology people now a days can get everything from home, from ordering food to buying daily basic necessities. It has resulted in decrease in amount of physical movement that people used to do previously. As a result, now a days we see increase in the number of various disease like diabetes, obesity, etc. Doctor says that this would not have occurred if we worked more physically than we are doing today.

To conclude, luxury and convenience has made life easier by reducing the work stress and making more time available for doing other work. However, it has also bring some disease to us.