Some people think that it is beneficial to do paid work, while others think that it is harmful for children.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing paid work?

Although some people argue that doing paid work is advantageous, other people consider that it has drawbacks. Children can learn about the value of money and they can become self-independent but it has some drawbacks too.

Firstly, one of the benefit of doing paid work is that it teaches them the value of money. By doing paid work, children learn that money does not fall from sky and in order to get money they have to work hard. Secondly, another positive aspect of doing paid work is that students become self-independent. As an illustration, almost three quarter of the students in Bangladesh depend on family or bank loan for paying their school fees. Doing paid work enable them to pay their own fee which increases self-respect of the student.

On the one hand, one of the drawback of doing paid work is that it exposes them to child labor. To give a clear example, in many of the underdeveloped and developing countries students are not protected under labor law. For this reason, the employer forces them to do more than average amount of work but pay them less than they deserve. Another side of the issue is that paid work moves the students away from their academic work. Students are unable to pay full attention to their studies which affects their grade and this poor grade makes it harder for them to compete in job market.

To conclude, doing paid work has some positive aspects but it also exposes the children to child labor and moves them away from their academic work.