One of the consequence of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to modern technological development in medical sector, there is no doubt that it has increased people’s life expectancy. However, I think that this life expectancy brings about more drawbacks than the other benefit it provide to the society.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of increased life expectancy. Owing to better medical treatment many old people have increased their life span period. They are now able to spend more time with their family and able to visit many places of the world. In addition, older people can bring some basic benefit to the state and family. To illustrate, when people live a longer life they have more experience to share with their elder which can be beneficial to the younger one. Besides, they can also provide necessary suggestions in some of the cases if the government needs help.

However, increased life span period put serious pressure on family and government. To give a clear example, although many of the old people has increased life span, most of the people are not able to take care of themselves. As a result, they become burden to the family for their take care. Furthermore, many older people living in society means that the government has to put a lot of amount of money in hospital and pension. In this case the government has no choice other than to increase the tax and this increased taxes create dissatisfaction towards the government.

In conclusion, being burden on people and society at older age downplays any of the positive aspect that better life expectancy brings to the society.