Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam ‘

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Due to modern technological blessing the production cost of private car has decreased and as a result many people are moving toward private car. This trend in moving toward private car has increased traffic congestion in many towns and I think it is true. This passage will explain the reason behind it and then, it will provide possible suggestion for improving this situation.

Due to the research in automobile section, the manufacturing cost of private car has decreased significantly and as a result, it allowed people to own a private car. Now a days, when we go outside we see too many private car in the street and most of them are being brought in last thirty years. To illustrate, our family also owns a private car and it was brought about 15 years ago by my father. Although my grandfather did a fairly good job, he was not able to afford a private car owing to financial reason. The rapid research on manufacturing sector in previous years made it possible for the manufacturer to provide car with affordable amount of money and consequently, the number of car in street has increased.

For solving this issue, the government can implement more taxes and impose harsher rules toward private car. Firstly, the government can impose high tax on private car. This high tax will reduce people’s tendency to buy private car and consequently, will reduce the number of car. In addition, the government can create a separate line for public transport so that it can travel faster than the private car. It will encourage people to travel using public transport since they will be able move to the desired place within a short amount of time.

In conclusion, low manufacturing cost has led to increase of traffic congestion in cities and I totally agree on this. Imposing tax on private car and facilitation public transport can be a solution to this problem.