College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Student life is the period of learning and getting yourself prepared for the future. The prompt argues about the issue and claims that students should choose their major on the availability jobs in the field. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt for two reasons which I will outline below. However, I do think that some people may argue against it.

First of all, students shouldn't choose their field of study based on job because job field is always changing. The fields which were highly on demand today may not stay in demand in coming days. For instance, Nuclear Engineering was a lucrative profession in the late 80's and 90's. There were many people at that time who choose Nuclear Engineering because of the availability of lucrative job. However, The recent Nuclear incidents in many parts of the world caused a significant decline in the use of Nuclear power. As a result job of the nuclear sector is declining. The person who had chosen his major based on only the availability of job may have to face serious problem now.

Secondly, students should not choose their major field based on availability of job cause job is not an indicator of happiness in life. For instance, If we think about a student who wanted to study engineering but because of the less ability of job in engineering profession in his country has chosen Medical profession. He might be doing a job but he is less likely to be happy. Whenever he is lying in is bed he may look at his phone and think about his dream of studying engineering. This problem is not going to allow him to concentrate on his medical profession too. He will not be a happy person in life.

Admittedly, someone may argue that in today's competitive world it is very important to have a good job to survive. However, if a person is passionate above, are we telling that if he follows his dream and passion he will be jobless?. For instance, if we think about Sachin Tendulkar who is the greatest cricketer of world cricket, from his childhood he wanted to be a cricketer. Some people argued that if he does so he may not be successful and may have struggle in the whole life. He did not pay heed to them and followed his dream, and he became the greatest cricketer of all time.

To conclude, College students should not choose their major on the available scope of job because job market is ever changing and job is not the indication of happiness. Following their dream may make them more successful