The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the Board of Director of Monarch Books recommended that Monarch Book should open a cafe in its store in order tor draw attention to more customer and to compete with Regal books store. The director comes to this conclusion based on several premises, which, if true, would make the argument persuasive. However, as it stands now, the director needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence to bolster the assertions credibility.

First of all, the Director assumes that the customer coming to the Monarch book house will also be attracted to the cafe. But perhaps this might not be the case. It is possible that people coming in the cafe will not like the cafe in Book store. It is also very much possible that people will not even come to the cafe due to the added cafe which may even hamper the atmosphere of the Book store. If either of the scenario has credibility, then the author contention is significantly flawed.

Moreover, the director presumes that Census indicating decline in the number of people under 10 is done in a scientific manner. But this might be the case. It is very much possible that people who have conducted the census take the sample of the population from a specific area and reported that it as a representative of all the area. It is also very much possible that researcher doing the census has personal problem with the Books cafe which include children books and thus manipulated data of the census. If either of the secenario is true then the author assertion doesn't hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that that Regal cafe and Monarch cafe are roughly the same. Perhaps this may not be the true. It is very much possible that regal cafe includes only the elderly person book, on the other hand Monarch cafe include all types of book. In addition, it is also possible that location of Regal cafe may in a suitable position where people can go and purchase book easily. On the other hand Monarch cafe location is in place where people can not go easily due to the damaged road. If either of the situation is true, the author contention is significantly hampered.

The director may be true in recommending that adding a cafe will attract more customer and this will help them to compete with Regal Books. However, as it stands now, the director conclusion rests upon three unwarranted assumption which hinders its credibility. If the author is able to provide answer to this question it will increase the persuasiveness of his contention.