The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super-Screen produced movies that any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not which the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument conludes that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public. even though this conclusion seems logically sound, considering the premises upon which it is built, some of the premises occur because of some fallacious assumptions.

Firstly, it is assumed that the results of the survey done by the marketing department is wholistic and aboveboard. however, no evidence is providedd to ascertain the plausibility of these reults. Be as it may, the result could be inconsistent with the true trend of things. For example, The number of reviews could have been overshot, making the result fallacious and hence the coonclusion wrong. if the results are overshot, it will mean that there are less reviews than were reported. In fact, the true number of review could even correspond to the number of people who attended the super screen produced movies in the past year after all.

Secondly, it is assumed that the reason fewer people attend the movies is definitely not as a result of the quality of super screen's movies. however, no eveidence is provided to support this assumptions. Had it been that there exists a standard movie rating index by which her movies have been highly rated in terms of quality, this assumption will be sound and plausible and the conclusion ultimately justified. On the other hand, low quality movies will appeal less to elite audience, hence, an improvement in the quality of the movies could be what is needed and not an increase in the share of budget for adverisement.

In addition, the author cites a report from the past year and, consequently predicts decisions that should be made for the next year. this is a very weak basis for making such audacious conclusion. what about reports for some earleir months or days of the present year? what if there are other factors such has the presence of severe wheather coditions which discourages people from attending the movies even though they are aware. if this is true, then a larger number of people should be expected in the months ahead in the present year and much more in the year ahead.

In conclusion, if it can be proven that the survey report is truely plausible, that the quality of the movies is not low and that what applies to the previous year will always apply to the year ahead, then the recommendation of the author is reasonable. On the other hand, if the fallacies mentioned above hold true, then the conclusion from is erroneous and will only mislead super screen.