The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director recommended that a greater share of the company's budget next year should be allocated to reaching the public through advertising. The director based this recommendation on the 'fact' that the contents of the positive reviews they get on their movies are not reaching their prospective viewers due to lack of awareness. However, before this recommendation can be considered reasonable, two questions need to be answered.

First, are the previous years comparable to the past year? In other words, are the situation of things the same over the years? Perhaps, there were more holidays and festivities in the previous year than in the past year. Also, it is possible that a new movie production company has just been established in the past year, and hence, it has been attracting more customers. If the above proves true, then the argument on which the recommendation is based is weak.

Secondly, do viewers actually read movie reviews? The director assumes that advertising movie reviews will attract the attention of viewers. It is possible that more people viewed movies in the previous year than in the past year because of different reasons and not because of reviews from movie reviewers. If viewers do not read reviews as much as the director assumes, then allocating a greater share of the budget to advertising may be a waste of resources. And if this is true, then the recommendation is not reasonable.

In conclusion, although the director seems to be interested in increasing the number of viewers, his recommendation is flawed. Those questions highlighted above need to be answered, and more tangible evidences need to be provided before the recommendation can be considered valid.