The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people believe that leadership in various fields including government and industry is best achieved through a sense of cooperation and not competition. I strongly agree with this. In my opinion, I believe that the best method to prepare young people for leadership is by teaching them cooperation for two reasons.

First, having a sense of corporation will enable leaders to recognize the collective strength of their team members and utilize that to achieve greater results. For instance, in the banking industry, the manager of a bank can create an enabling environment where each member of staff can see one another as part of a team. This, will in no doubt drive organizational growth and enable them to achieve greater results as a team. In essence, together, everybody achieves more.

Secondly, a sitting government cannot thrive without cooperation among its cabinet members or government officials. A government is usually composed of several arms and bodies, all working together to achieve a common goal. For instance, the president of a country has to be able to work cooperatively with the vice president, governors, mayors and other government representatives. If they are going to be successful, they need to exhibit cooperation, rather than competition.

In conclusion, although some may argue that the best way to prepare young people for leadership is by instilling competition in them, this is not totally true. It may be argued that competition can drive growth but it is a two-sided dice. If it turns out to be negative, this can lead to a disaster and total failure in leadership. Hence, cooperation is the best choice.