The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in a

The advertising director of the Super screen movies claims in the memo that Super Screen should allocate more budget the following year to reach the public through advertising. Such a claim is made based on the argument that the content of the reviews of movies are not reaching enough prospective viewers and thus the need for the increase in budget. While he/she makes a good point, the argument provided is flawed as it does not address a few important matters. The argument does not indicate the number of viewers or reviewers and uses terms as "few". The argument does not state how much budget has already been allocated towards advertising and who are the prospective viewers.

First, the director mentions the decrease in the number of viewers for the past year. However, he/she fails to point out the number of viewers current and previous viewers and thus a proper comparison cannot be made. A decrease of 1-2 viewers can also mean "fewer" viewers. Moreover, the director only says that the decrease took place during the past year. The decrease can be attributed to many other factors other than the quality of movies. It may be attributed to a national calamity, releases of other movies and many other factors. Therefore, a certain conclusion cannot be made from these points.

Secondly, the directors says the reviews of the movie given by the reviewers are positive. Here, he/she did not mention who are the reviewers and how many people have reviewed the movie. As review of movie can vary from person to person, reviews from a few people cannot be possibly taken into account to determine the quality of a movie. Next, he/she mentions that the content of review is not reaching the "prospective" viewers, but gives no hint as to who are the prospective viewers and how they can be convinced to attend the movie through advertising.

However, the point made in the memo does make a good point, that is, a good quality movie- if advertised properly would attract more viewers. But the argument provided is invalid without the above questions answered properly. If the statistical number of viewers over the last 5-6 years is taken into account, along with the number of reviewers with their reviews, the prospective viewers are marked properly and the reason they are not attending the movies can be accounted for, then the argument will be strong and valid.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the argument is weak to draw such a strong conclusion unless the above mentioned questions are addressed properly.