The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The author of the letter claims that skateboarding in Central plaza should be prohibited to improve business conditions. He/She points out that there had been a steady decline in number of shoppers over the previous two years while number of skateboarder increased, also the amount of littering and vandalism has gone up as well. While the authors makes a point that seems somewhat plausible, the argument provided is flawed. The author failed to mention from when skateboarding had been allowed in the shopping mall, if skateboarders are the ones who are littering in the mall and whether skateboarding is the only reason the number of shoppers decreased.

First, the author mentions that over the previous two years the number of shoppers went down while the popularity of skateboarding went up. However, he/she fails to mention that from when skateboarding has been allowed in the plaza. He tries to denote that popularity of skateboarding has decreased the number of shoppers but did not make a direct connection between the timeline of these two events.

Second, the author states that there has been an increase in littering and vandalism throughout the plaza. The underlying assumption is that the skateboarders are the ones who are responsible for it. However, he/she did not provide evidence to make that connection. Shoppers may also be responsible for littering, while some skateboarders may be shoppers themselves. The evidence is not strong enough to make that connection.

Finally, the author claims that owners believe that the number of skateboarders are responsible for the decline in number of shoppers. But, he/she did not say how many owners believed that. Moreover, skateboarders themselves may be the shoppers. There is not enough evidence that proves that every owner had blamed the skateboarders for losing their customers.

In conclusion, based on the points made above, it is safe to say that if the author provided a proper timeline detail of the incidents, provided evidence to make a direct connection between skateboarders and people who littered, and gave a proper estimate of how many shoppers have stopped shopping from the plaza and how many owners believed that skateboarders are the people responsible for their downfall in business, the argument would have been on point. Without these questions answered, the argument is weak to draw such a strong conclusion.