"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

An argument is put forth by an advertising director wherein it is recommended that a greater share of budget be allocated to advertising by a production company named Super Screen since the director has identified recent trends of fewer people attending Super Screen movies. However, the argument is flawed and is based on various unstated assumptions and unanswered questions.

The first and the most important statement is that fewer people have attended Super Screen movies in the last year. What the director fails to mention is the number of Super Screen movies released in the last year as compared to the years before that. If fewer movies were released last year than the rest of the years, it could be possible that the decrease in number of movie attendants has nothing to do with a lack of awareness about the movies as assumed by the advertising director.

The director also mentions the increase in the percentage of positive reviews about Super Screen movies to support his claim that it is not the movie quality that has been lacking but the advertising strategy. However, one needs to look at other metrics such as the percentage of movie attendants who reviewed the movie. There is a chance that a larger number of people who attended the movie also reviewed the movie in the last year as compared to previous years. There is also a chance that the percentage of people who disliked the movie and wrote a review has decreased this year which would fail to conclude that the movies were of better quality in the last year.

Even if there has been a fall in the number of people attending Super Screen movies despite them being of good quality, it does not necessarily imply that this trend is caused due to a lack of awareness. People might have lost interest in watching movies in the past year due to external factors like an ongoing economic crisis or internal conflicts in the country.

Finally, a greater share of budget to advertising does not necessarily translate to people being better aware of good quality movies. There can be better advertising done with smaller budgets. The correlation between the amount spent on advertising and the advertising outreach is not made evident in the argument.

For the above reasons, the advertising director's argument is unreasonable and fallacious and requires further data and clarifications to assess its validity.