Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager of the television station suggests that the weather and local news be allotted more time in the late-night news program. He supports his argument based on the recent complaints received from viewers and the recent trends of cancelled advertising contracts. However, the argument fails to hold water as it does not answer several important questions and makes many unstated assumptions.

The business manager mentions that a large portion of complaints received in the last year were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news, but fails to mention what aspect of the current news coverage was the point of concern for the viewers. It could be possible that the viewers opined that the current coverage is superfluous. They might have wished that the weather and local news be not shown at all in the late-night news program. The complaints might have been about the coverage being not detailed enough. Unless the nature of the complaints is known, one cannot conclude that the viewers prefer to have more time devoted to the weather and local news in the said program. If they did prefer more weather and local news in the late-night program, the manager's argument would be strengthened.

Another supporting point for the manager's argument is the cancellation of advertising contracts in the late-night news program. However, there is no evidence presented that correlates the cancellation of advertising contracts with the increased time to national news. The local businesses might have cancelled their contracts for numerous other reasons. There might have been other external factors like, change in the economy, that could have led to these cancellations. The reason for the cancellation of contracts needs to be known to determine if the increased national news coverage in this time period had an affect on the cancellation. If the contracts were cancelled due to the increased time for national news coverage, then the manager would be right in suggesting to increase the coverage for weather and local news.

The business manager posits that the change in the proportions of national, and weather and local news during the late-night news program is the cause for the cancellation of contracts and the complaints from viewers - which cannot be considered as a valid supporting statement unless the above questions are answered. If it was indeed the cause, the argument would be valid.