The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie

Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author asserts that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies this year than compared to last year, he further claims that though the amount of the people who attended the movie has reduced, the percentage of positive reviews for specific Super Screen movies actually increased. He concluded by stating, the problem is not with the quality of the movie, instead is with the reach to the public, therefore for the next year a greater share of the budget should be allocated to reaching the public through advertising. The argument is a series of unsubstantiated assumptions, is, therefore, unpersuasive in its standing.

Firstly, the author claims that, though the amount of people watching the movie has declined, the positive review for the Super Screen movies had actually increased. They are many loopholes in this statement. The author fails to mention, how are this percentage calculated? How many reviewers have given the reviews? is the number of reviewers count better or less compared to the previous year? On what basis is this rating of the movie done? If the author had provided the above-mentioned details, the statements would have further supported the claim.

Secondly, the author states, because of the lack of awareness about the good quality of the movies are available, the public had not watched a movie. The author did not take facts into consideration to validate this statement, Maybe the public is aware of the good quality of the movies from Super Screen-produced, but there are much better movies available in the market. Maybe, a big stars movies with a larger fan base might have been released from different productions this year, which made a larger amount of people watch those movies instead of the movies produced by Super Screen-production.

In conclusion, the author's evidence lends little credibility to his allegations. To bolster the argument, the author should provide us with more information about, how is the reviewer percentage is calculated, on what based had the reviewers rated the movie, and information about the movies produced by other productions. By providing the above-mentioned details, the author can strengthen the statement and thereby making it more appealing to the reader.