The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

With the intention of strengthening the consistency of their loan request, the developers came up with the conclusion of profitability that seems a derivative of several reasoning points. Unfortunately, a substantial part of the motivation they propose is not flawless and shows a number of generalizing sentences that do need some evidences to be assessed. In particular, there is a superficial use of some words, such as “extremely popular”, “several” and “entertainment”, while some entire sentences do not show any concrete relationship with the conclusion if they are not backed up with other specific evidences.

The “extreme popularity” of jazz in Monroe is maintained as a result of three occurrences. The first one is that over 100.000 people attended the jazz festival last summer in Monroe. It is clearly evident that this could be by no means a compelling argument if, for example, the city of Monroe is inhabited by several million citizens. In fact, we do not know any info about census in Monroe. Moreover, many circumstances could have made the jazz festival a successful event even if there is no real interest in jazz from the citizens of Monroe. For instance, how many of the 100.000 have come from far away just for that specific festival? Or were there any other entertaining activities in the city that were postponed for any reasons? These, indeed, could prove a crucial weakness of the argument.

Another motivation for the developers to maintain that the C-Note project can be a productive one is that the radio program “Jazzy Night”, aired every weeknight at 7 P.M., is the highest-rated. While this can be an effective prove for the reasonability of the loan, some evidences must be elucidated. As a matter of fact, if at 7 P.M. there is no concrete concurrence, then the radio achievement in being the highest-rated would really mean nothing. What is more, if the radio is broadcasted all over the nation, its success could really be related to some other cities and communities of jazz-loving people. The next flaw directly comes from this de-localization issue.

In fact, the developers also report a “nation-wide study”, but it does not seem to be of any use in the loan request. Two are the eventual facts that should have been proposed to make the argument more convincing: first is the average disposable income of the “jazz fan”, as to make evaluate the importance of the observed spent 1000 dollars; then, a qualification of the terms of the study. In particular, what is “jazz entertainment? It could be jazz personal practice, or purchasing of LPs and CDs, and these could definitely make the survey useless for the loan suitability assessment.