GRE Argument The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions Since they were

The argument claims that not allowing to build the road will preserve the biodiversity of West Lansburg as well as it will ensure a healthy environment. This claim is based on the assumption that repealing of sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria had seen decline in it's sea otter population. While it may be true that there was decline in neighboring region after evoking the sanctuary status, that too this occurred 26 years ago. The authors argument does not make a cogent case for the conclusion that they have made. The argument rests on questionable assumptions, suffers form vaguely defined terms and contains numerous flaws that make it difficult to validate the conclusion.

Firstly, it is nowhere stated that after evoking the sanctuary status in Eastern Carpenteria a road was built there which led to decrease in otter population. If it was clearly established in the argument that building the road led to decrease in otter population then it would strengthen the author's claim.

While the information about building the road in Eastern Carpenteria is not mentioned, author also assumes that the habitat and survival conditions for the groundhogs and otters is exactly the same or almost similar. More information is needed to validate this assumption. In case a strong correlation can't be established in the compatibilities of otters and groundhogs with the similar environmental conditions, it will seriously weaken the authors claim.

It is also important to establish the fact that the conditions for survival as well as the relationship of animal existance with human intervention is same in 2004 as it was in 1978. There are many variable that might have changed over the period of 26 years. Unless this similarity can't be established, the authors claim won't be complete. The fact is that the conditions of both the neighbouring regions might be completely unrelated to each other.

Finally, author assumes that envoking the sanctuary status of Eastern Carpenteria in 1978 led to decrease in otter population. The decrease in population of otters might be completely due to some other reason like 'change in environmental conditions which led to decrease in otter population' then it would be completely unrelated to the sanctuary status. So, it could just be a correlation between the events but not an event causing the other. Evidence about the invoking the sanctuary status causing decrease in otter population is essential for author's claim to be valid.

So, the assumptions mentioned above need more evidence for deciding if building road would harm biodiversity in West Lansburg or not.