GRE Issue The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

The claim states that, for a neutral and unbiased assessment of the work of a popular musician, one must wait for a several generations to avoid being interfered with the fame of the musician. While a reasonable person might think that evaluating a musician's work is prone to his/her fame thus it's better to avoid doing it while the musician is alive but, music is a form of art which depends on tastes and liking of people living in that particular time and it evolves over the period of time. Thus, to recognize a real virtuoso one should consider the opinion of people living in the same time as the musician.

The likings of people in general evolve with time. The dressing styles that were famous in 18th century are rarely seen to be worn by the people. It feels rather incongruous if someone dresses in an anachronistic attire. People develop an unconscious bias against the anachronistic things. Same is true with music. The type of music that was famous a few centuries or generations ago might not be famous today. Rather, people might feel that music to be boring. Thus the changes in preferences over time can't be ignored while evaluating an art form like music.

Apart from the dynamically changing tastes of the people it is also important to factor in the influence that musical instruments have over an artform like music. The talent of a popular musician can also be defined by his/her expertise in perfectly handling a musical instrument. As the technology evolves over time and things become more simplistic for people to use, the instruments which are presently used might feel impractical or too difficult to handle thus might lead to an bias in evaluation.

While it is fair to assume that the fame of a musician can interfere with an honest assessment. Thus having a gap in time after the death of musician might seen viable. However, the fact that overpowers this assumption is that, a musician becomes popular and famous because of the skills to entice the audience by giving an exemplary performance, thus popularity of singer is not a factor that should be avoided. It is actually a contributing factor to assess the greatness of the musician. Also a form of music lasting for a long time or being liked by people for a couple of generations is not the only factor that is central to evaluate a musician.

The evolving choices and preferences of people as well as the greatness of musician due to their skill to fulfill the need of audience by giving the performance of their liking is not a factor that can be ignored to get an honest and unbiased assessment of a musician.