GRE: A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The argument that the establishment of the new Captain Seafood restaurant in Bay City would be lucrative and popular seems to be tenable at first glance. The conclusion made by the writer would be correct and cogent, if his premises be true. However, the author provides assumption for which there is no clear evidence and it uses terms which lack definition.

First, the writer assumes that the increase in the consumption of seafood dishes means that the demand for the seafood meals has also increased. While citing this claim, the author doesn't provide any reliable correlation between the increasing of popularity for the seafood meals with the dishes which are used for the seafood meals. Perhaps, the consumption of the seafood dishes were because of the being cheap or having good quality which cause the customers prefer them to other ones. Perhaps, being lack of the other dishes in the restaurants, the seafood dishes were being used, as there is no specific difference among dishes. So, it is entirely possible the writer's assumption be wrong, if the dishes weren't used for eating the seafood meals.

Second, the notation claims that seafood productions are more favorable and desirable for the two-income families because of being healthy. Although the food made by sea animals is healthy, there is vast variety of food known healthy such as food made by white meat and vegetables. This issue could be more tenable, if the writer made principal points to address why those families are longing for the seafood meals rather than other foods. Moreover, that study mentioned in the argument, doesn't submit a supported reason for eating healthier by those families because most people concerning about the health issue, still aren't able to eat expensive foods.

Finally, the argument could be strengthen, it the writer use socially and economically specific situation of people. It would be more illustrious, if it were shown the statistic graph on the trends and food habits of people in the city. Maybe, not being even one seafood restaurant is due to lake of the interests showed by people. Then, it will be big risk to create a specialized restaurant which cause loses instead of profit.

The author might not to be necessarily wrong on the conclusion he made, but to support it, he could easily submit the exact information with the clear proofs as to people's trends to seafood meals. Both the evidences about consumption of the seafood dishes and families with two-income aren't directly related to the demand increased for a new seafood restaurant. In conclusion, with rosy and unsupported assumptions cited in the notation, the thought of being profitable and popular the new restaurant doesn't seem convincing.