Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will be able to reduce the risk of injuries. The conclusion of the argument relies on some assumptions. Without these assumptions, the argument is weak and unconvincing. Some assumption are stated, some are unstated.

Firstly, the critical reasoning of the argument depends on an unstated assumption which is the extent of statistic data. The data should be carrying on large numbers of skaters. If only a few people are listed on the group who are victims of the accident, then the argument will surely have flaws to make any conclusion. Secondly, 25% of the victims who get less injured also skate on risky roads or parking lots as like as other 75% victims. If these 25% only skate on safe places, then the conclusion made on wearing PE and LRE will not be effective. Thirdly, the victims after getting injured are intended to go to a hospital, not to go to any clinics or home treatment. Otherwise, if the major part of the victims don't show up on the statistics, the conclusion will not be persuasive and critically reasoned. Fourthly, skaters who do not wear PE and LRE are also skillful as who wear PE and PRE. If they are not that skillful, then PE and PRE may not help them to not get injured.

In conclusion, the arguments depend on these above mentioned assumptions. Without these assumptions, the conclusion is flawed and investing money on these equipment will not bring much good. To assess the merit of a situation or decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors, otherwise the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.