In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Argument claims that more budget to riverside recreational facilities will regain the popularity of water sports in mason city. For this claim, there are several assumptions must be accounted. Without considering these assumption, only budget can not help.

Number one, there is a saying about complaints from residents for the quality of river's water. What percentages of population of mason city complaints about dirty water should be accounted. If complaints come from the most of the people, it is okay. But it comes from a few people, budget can not help so much. Number two, surveys of ranking sports are not old. If it is old, in now days, several new land games can be popular among the mason city dwellers which should be accounted. otherwise taking care of mason river does not help to increase water sports popularity. Number three, modern technological sports such PC games and mobile games do not take place largely at mason city. If these kinds of game are popular among mason city's new generation, there will be surely decline of these water sports' popularity. Number four, in this days, people sit idle in their home instead of going into the city park, only because of no chance of playing these water sports. If now a days, the people spent their recreational time at city parks, there will be no need of cleaning river water. However, cleaning water will be good for environment and ecology.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned implications and is therefore unconvincing. If the author had mentioned all relevant facts, the argument could have been considerably strengthened. To assess the merits of a situation or decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors otherwise this kind arguments remain unsubstantiated and open to debate.