Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A government should spend money on the welfare of society. Choosing a budget from one sector to another always requires a high planning activity. In my opinion, govt. should spend money more on sports than arts because of physical exercise and Olympic medals which would make the whole nation proud.

First, the main reason to support athletics is the health issue. People who play sports can improve their health and can save money by not buying medicine. For example, a few days ago, my uncle told his one child to play basketball and another child to play football. Now, every evening they use to play in the playground without spending time in video games and watching video streamings. It will definitely improve their health in long term. They will save their money by not going to hospitals and not buying medicines. And also they can be able to live longer. Now because of the govt. support many parents are encouraging their children to play and earn medals in Olympics. This clearly illustrates that govt. should spend more money in sport-related activites.

Second, to sponsor on athletics such as state Olympic team, a nation can be proud. For instance, India did not win any medals in the last Olympics in London. This year in TOKYO Olympics, India won 1 gold, 2 silvers, and 4 bronzes. This has been possible because the Indian govt spends a huge amount of budget on supporting athletics at last year. This support encourages many young to pursue their sports-related future. In my view, In the next Olympics, India will earn more medals than this year if the support from the govt. becomes consistent.

Third, if the govt. take initiatives to make more playgrounds or parks by cleaning old playgrounds and parks, it will increase the beauty of nature of the city. It can also include many indoor game facilities such as chess or brainstorming games that will improve the brain activities of the people. However, Arts are also important for society and Art should be given the next priority. If the health is okay, people will practice art more intelligently and creatively.

In conclusion, with the above in my mind, in long run, promoting sports especially state-sponsored Olympic teams, will lead to the betterment of all involved because of health-related benefits and the whole nation's pride.