Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for several reasons. First and foremost, the extinction of the mammals could be as a result of an indirect contact with the humans which lived there. Furthermore, assuming humans were indeed responsible, the discarding of the mammal bones might have been done in a different fashion that those of the fish. Finally, other reasons could be suggested except for humans and climate change.

A direct link between humans and mammals, such as hunting, is only one way in which humans could have caused the death of the mammals. Consider the possibility of both the humans and the mammals hunting for the same source of food, for example the mentioned fish. The humans, due to their wit and strength, could have been more successful in this hunt than the mammals. As a result, they could have depleted all waters from fish, leaving the mammals to starve to death.

Another problematic assumption in the argument is that, assuming humans did hunt the mammals, they must have discarded their bones in the same way they discarded the bones of the fish. However, it might be the case that the bones of the mammals, unlike the bones of the fish, were of some practical use. For example, one could use them to start a fire, as burning material instead of wood, or perhaps even use them to create boats. These would result in the bones never being found by modern archaeologists. Furthermore research and more discoveries in the area of Kaliko could shed light on this matter. For example, boats were found in the area made of mammal bones could clearly support this theory.

As a final note, the argument suggests that since humans were not responsible for the extinction of mammals, climate change must have been the cause. However, many other options are available. The mammals could have been eradicated by a meteor which came from the sky or by some disease which spread rapidly and killed all mammals. Only further investigation of the climate in these years, via modern technology, could shed light on whether this was indeed the cause.

From the above we conclude that humans might have indirectly caused the extinction of the mammals. Furthermore, assuming they did not, several other possibilities which are not less likely could have been the cause.