Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested t

It is observed that archaeologists have blatantly proposed that human were responsible for the extinct of mammal species. However, all evidences provided in the passage can also point to some different direction, through which can explain that humans might not be responsible for extinct of mammal.

First evidence that needs to be considered it that humans arrived in the Kaliko islands 70000 years ago, but it was after 3000 years that large mammal species became extinct. It is surprising to note that why did it take 3000 years for this incident? If humans were relying for their food by fishing and hunting, then mammals should have been extincted long back. One reason behind their being extinct is the conditions. It might be possible that conditions weren't favorable for these large species which lead them to die. Because, considering the human capability, it would be quite difficult for them to kill these large mammals.

Archaeologists also did not find any big or harmful weapons because just fetching stones and knifes won't ensure that humans used them to kill the species. As large species have extincted, humans would definitely need some big weapons for them. Did archaeologists find other reasons for humans using stones and knifes? It can also be explained that they used them for their normal mundane activities like cutting trees, plants for food, for shelter as well as for protection among themselves. As archaeologists found bones of fish, it can also be plausibly explained that large species were dependent on small fishes and they might have ran out of the stock. This can also be the main reason for such extinct.

Thus, considering all above factors, it can be explained that humans cannot be the only reason for the extinct of mammals as there could be several other factors behind this. Unfavorable weather conditions could have reduced the number of small fishes on whom large species depended a lot. Reduction in small ones can be the main reason for the reduction in large ones.