Innoculation

In this passage, the author wants to convince us that the potential benefits of routine innoculation against cow flu does not outweigh the potential negative effects of the vaccine, and that we should therefore not practice routine innoculation against cow flu. However, the author's argument is rushed and presents with several flaws in reasoning which prevent us from effectively weighing risk and benefits. The author needs to answer more questions before he can make a recommendation on which procedure to follow.

First, he claims that innoculations in areas where the disease is detected might be life-saving. However, he does not provide us with a description of the consequences of cow flu. Is it an illness that appears suddenly and has immediate severe consequences that lead to a rapid death? If so, it would make sense to prevent the disease from occurring entirely. If cow flu causes symptoms that are duller and take a while to appear, the development of a curative product might be more beneficial. The author needs to provide us with more information about the disease before claiming the potential benefits of an innoculation procedure against it.

Additionally, the concept of inoculation in an area where the disease has already been detected seems moot. If the disease is already there, the people receiving the vaccine may already be suffering from the disease and would therefore not benefit from the innoculation procedure. The author should explain his reasoning behind the qualification of "areas where the disease is detected". It might make more sense to recommend people get vaccinated in an area where a case of cow flu was documented less than a certain amount of years ago. The author needs to provide us with more evidence for why he thinks his first strategy could be beneficial.

Moreover, the author needs to provide us with more information about the small possibility of death because of the innoculation. He does not give us any statistics, which prevents us from judging the likelihood of this possibility. Most medications list death as a potential side effect, so without more data we do not know whether or not inoculations are dangerously deadly.

While the author's argument of the possibility of dying from an innoculation procedure is daunting, he needs to provide us with more information about both the potential benefits of the vaccine and how it would be administered and the potential harmful effects of this procedure. Instead he makes a very drastic claim that allows no room for discussion. If the vaccine is dangerous for people with a specific set of characteristics, the author could recommend avoiding the innoculation procedure. Similarly, if a group is at high risk for cow flu, the author might recommend they do undergo the vaccination procedure. Without nuances and data, this author's recommendation seems too drastic to be taken seriously.