Studying foodways – What foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare and consume them – is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

“You are what you eat” is a sentence often uttered to encourage people to eat healthy. I understand it more as explaining food as a central component of any culture. When one wants to understand a culture better, one wants to learn about what and who that culture values. I believe that through studying foodways, a person can gain the deepest understanding of a culture than through any other type of study.

For example, what reflects a culture are holidays and traditions. Those celebrations almost always include food. Thanksgiving -which is considered to be the most American holiday- places a lot of emphasis on food. Families come together to share plates of turkey, yams, cranberry sauce and other holiday staples. This food is specific to Thanksgiving and is tied to the complicated history of pilgrims and Native Americans. Through studying what people eat during Thanksgiving, one can learn a lot about early American History. Similarly, one can learn a lot about different branches of Islam by studying what people are allowed to eat during Ramadan, or a lot about French Christianity through studying why people eat crepes during Candlemas. Food and religious celebrations are often tied, and religion is a crucial factor in a person’s culture. If we understand why people eat specific food at speficic times for specific reasons, we start to understand the history and values of the culture better.

Moreover, through studying foodways, we can learn about what people from certain cultures value most. For example, in France, there are over 200 registered traditional cheeses. In order to obtain the right to label a cheese Sainte-Maure Villages or Reblochon, a cheese producer must prove that they follow specific rules and processes that have been defined after years of traditional fabrication. In France, these traditional labels also exist for wines and other fine goods. Studying the detail put into preserving the quality of traditional foods shows French people’s commitment to their own history and traditions just as well as (if not better!) than studying how the government funds the rehabilitation of monuments or the preservation of artwork.

Furthermore, participating in a meal, including its preparation and consumption, can teach you a lot about how members from the same culture interact with one another. Who is allowed to eat first? Do you eat with your hands, chopsticks, or a fork? Does someone say grace before the meal starts? Are women the ones who always prepare the meal? Does the meat have to be halal in order to be selected for the meal? Those questions have different answers even within a culture, but can be very indicative of existing hierarchical structures within a culture. Through studying foodways, we can get a glimpse of power structures within cultures, which helps us know the culture itself a lot better.

There are many ways to study a culture. For example, language, history, anthropology, literature. All can teach us valuable lessons about a culture. However, all of them are also linked to food. When you learn a language, you learn the words for staples of a country. When you study history, you talk about food importation. No matter what you study, you can find a way back to food, because it is the deepest and best way to understand a culture. Through encovering why we eat what we eat during holidays, what we value during our food production process, and how our consumption traditions are organized, we can develop a deep understanding of a particular culture.