An international development organisation, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet

Even though some citizens of Tagus are characterised by a lack in vitamin A, it is difficult to understand the relevance of this deficiency as concrete quantifications are not reported. In addition, the reasoning presents two unjustified assumptions, regarding the production and the consumption of the new variety, that can invalidate the final conclusion.

The writer describes a situation in which the presence of vitamin A is low in the population of Tagus. However, it is not addressed exactly what should be the normal value of vitamin A in human beings, or in other words, the shortage is not quantified, and the number of individuals affected by this disease is unknown. As a result, it is not possible to acknowledge the seriousness of the matter and conclude that government should intervene immediately in order to change the actual situation.

Furthermore, the first assumption concerns the fact that farmers will undoubtedly produce the new variety of millet since the government partially covers the cost through the issue of subsides. Nevertheless, weak elements arise in this argumentation. Actually, the economic policy of subsides does not constraint farmers to produce the new millet. They could just take the money without implementing the intervention of government. Moreover, even if we assume that farmers follow government’ recommendations, it is hard to predict whether the supply will meet the demand, leaving someone without the new commodity. For instance, since being financially sustained by the State, farmers could implement free-riding strategies, which may convert in an insufficient or - in the worst-case scenario - null production.

Moreover, the second hypothesis refers to the adoption of the new product. It is stressed that since citizens of Tagus already consume millet, they will readily introduce to their needs the novel variety of millet. Along with the unjustified assumption, in this sentence is possible to detect a trouble analogy. This is since the writer is assuming that consumers of one type will be also consumers of the second type of the good. However, this may not be the case. For instance, people may not like the taste of the new product and/or they may not be incentivised to purchase it due to its expensive price or an unsuccessful marketing campaign.

Summing up, the conclusion of the writer seems to rely on weak reasonings that can be contradicted. Nevertheless, in order to strength his position, the author should report some statistics on the biological deficiency and the population of Tagus. In addition, to avoid cunning behaviour, the government should force farmers to produce the new millet with, for example, supply contracts. Finally, the writer should consult and report analysis on the consumers’ preferences in order to sustain his analogy.