A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The choice of a major for a scholar in the early stage of education is not a straightforward decision. This is since parents usually select a particular curriculum considering both the inclinations of their offspring and the academic and working opportunities that the major can give in the future. For this reason, one may affirm that the State should impose student to attend the same educational program before entering college, easing the selection process. However, I believe that this solution may not be effective as students, but also nations, differ for several reasons.

First of all, the imposition of the same study program may lead to counterproductive effects, as differences arises between juveniles. Actually, students have diverse needs and passion and the scholastic system should accommodate their satisfaction and realization. For instance, with the presence of a national curriculum, students that are interested in matters which are not taught would not have the possibility to deepen their knowledge and nurture their passions. Constraining youngsters to attend the same program could determine a sentiment of unhappiness and reduce the will to complete education years.

Furthermore, the idea that each nation should apply this system is deceptive due to the diverse status in which nations are and their disparate needs. Distinguish between developing and developed countries, it is clear that the former are in conditions which are distant form the reality of the latter. While in rich countries the solution proposed by the claim could be taken into account seriously, in poor countries, the malfunctioning of the education system constitutes just one problem among a plethora of difficulties. Before thinking on the education system, governments of developing countries should focus on the resolution of major issues, such as scarce sanitary conditions, high mortality rate and the boundless presence of starvation. Therefore, the affirmation of the prompt has to be rebutted as it would be hard to extend it on the generality of nations.

Nevertheless, opponents to the presented argument could aver that the imposition of the government has a double positive impact. It can reduce the burden on parents of the curriculum decision, but most importantly it would allow equalising students giving them the same opportunities before choosing whether continuing academic studies or undertaking a working career. However, even though it may seem convincing, this reasoning fails to account the most relevant aspect, that is children’s dreams and passions. Only if properly stimulated a scholar will be able to utilise the instruments supplied by the educational system, succeeding in his adult life. Then, it is not truthful that this policy will bring equal opportunities among students. In reality, a part of European countries, e.g. Italy, apply it without experiencing the effect forecast by the oppositions. This is since other elements external to education affects the issue of equality, such as the culture of a Nation, the Institutions that govern it and the displayed level of corruption.

Summing up, the idea that scholars should attend the same curriculum imposed by the State seems wrongful. However, in order to reach a common ground between the two extreme positions, one could propose that national curricula should include a combination of mandatory and free-selected subjects.