Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is without doubt that the decision upon the selection of the major for a student is not straightforward. This is also due to the fact that curricula often lack in subjects that student would like to attend. Hence, in order to ease this task, someone may concur that schools should integrate to ordinary programs students’ suggestions or provide at least the possibility to let scholars selecting additional subjects. In my opinion, the scholastic system should adopt this practice as it may yield several benefits.

The first upside to consider is the wellness of students. Listening to and realising scholars’ needs may increase the happiness of students, which usually struggle in their academic years. In addition, academies may also take advantage from this choice. If the school is able to provide for pupils’ requests, such as - for instance - the will to learn to play an instrument or the inclusion of political and economic debates, scholars will be more joyful, which could also affect positively academic performance. This is since being in a context in which juveniles can develop their passions and interests may reduce students’ stress, bringing serenity, as they would have the opportunity to deepen what they mostly like. Therefore, hearing to pupils’ proposal could benefit both students and the education system.

Furthermore, another plus point regards the fact that, through this process, juveniles may understand better themselves - namely what they prefer or which their aspiration are - developing a solid idea on the role to assume in the future. For instance, numerous well-known universities, from Harvard to Cambridge, use to have a curriculum in which students are allowed to select one or two subjects. In this way, scholars can discern which topic to deepen and which to avoid, specialising their studies and increasing their competitiveness on the job market. What proposes the claim may help youngsters to understand in an early stage their preferences and thus what they want to achieve. This could concern a particular subject or, conversely, a dreamy job. This practice would help scholars to identify more efficiently their path.

Notwithstanding, a legitimate objection to what has been said so far is that students - especially youngest - do not have a clue on what they like. In some cases, they do not even want to express their preferences as they do not care about their education. Hence, the opposition may rise the following objection. How could educators be able to attempt the research implied by the statement if students were not collaborative? Even though it seems a strenuous job for teachers, they should employ all their resources in order to make sluggish students more aware of their concerns and future. They can succeed in this assignment through simple communication or - in a worse scenario - via the imposition of choices, in order to empower juveniles.

To conclude, the idea that students should have a voice on the composition of their major seems correct. Even though some difficulties may arise in its application, educators must use all their energy in order to listen students and give them responsibilities.