GRE sample issue pool essay topic 45

Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The speaker contends that the curriculum should be offered to students based on what they want to study. I concede that finding out what student want in their curriculum helps in increasing their productivity and interest towards the subject matter. In most respect, however, educators with more experience can guide students to better curriculum.

Admittedly, flexible curriculum motivates children to be more attentive towards their study. When students are given opportunity to choose what they want to study, it will automatically increase their productivity towards those topic. They tend to send more time in studying and getting better at it. For instance, In developed countries, where there are universities who tend to make education flexible, have more successful students than developing countries which provides fixed curriculum for a study. Say, a student has affinity for science and wants to become a physicist, but does not understand botany. In that scenario, if educators provide a curriculum of science with botany, then that student has second thought on choosing that curriculum. Not only the uninteresting subject in a curriculum demotivates students, it also makes them unproductive on those subjects they are seriously into. Thus speaker’s claim has some merit in giving opportunity for students to choose their curriculum.

However, the speakers ignores that the educators are more experienced and they can guide students based on their interest. The educators, who has seen many previous student’s life cycle, can guide new students into a better option. For instance, if a student wants to study all the fundamental courses in the curriculum, then he will be far behind other students who choose tough curriculum. Not only this, educators can challenge the student potential and direct them towards more fruitful courses. They can also evaluate if any course the students are opting for requires prerequisites. Thus it is even better for educators to be involved in curriculum choosing process.

Furthermore, the speaker also ignores the tendency of students choosing wrong courses for their long term goal. When educators design a curriculum they design a series of courses which will be beneficial for the student in their field of interest. For example, if a student wants to become a proficient software developer, then students might have affinity for programming subjects but might not know data structures and algorithm is equally important. Since data structure and algorithm is not directly a programming course but provides fundamental knowledge about complex programming, students can easily miss data structure and algorithm. Hence, letting educators design a curriculum makes student to not miss out on the fundamentals and eases the process of learning.

In sum, the statement correctly states that students involvement in choosing curriculum is essential because it allows them to choose their field of interest. However, statement does not fully credit the educators who can make the curriculum choosing process ease and guide students towards more organized and better learning.