The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them sense of cooperation, not competition.

The speaker contends that the optimum way to prepare the young generation for leadership in various fields is to make them understand the value of cooperation instead of competition. I concede that cooperation in young people can create synergy in their learning progress and they can also learn from each other. In some respect, however, competition is essential to find out who is going to lead the group.

Admittedly, working in a group makes it easier for young generation to create synergy in their work. It gives them idea about what they excel at and therefore, work towards it. Cooperation in young teaches them that working in a team yields more output than working as an individual. To illustrate, we have seen many donation campaigns done by the youth. They are extremely enthusiastic towards the work through cooperation. Together, they are able to reach any extremes because they know they have each other in their backup. Thus, working together in a group makes youth more energetic and self-reliant towards their task which is an essential skill required by the youth for leadership.

Moreover, cooperation is the best way to learn from each other and to be a leader, it is essential to respect everyone's knowledge. When students work in a group they have a sense of sharing knowledge with each other which makes them confident in themselves and well as know about others making them aware about wide range of perspective. For instance, in a science class, a project is assigned to a group member who posses divergent interest within science. Say, one has interest in physics, another has interest in botany , another in zoology and so on. When they work in a group the young one who is proficient in physics can share his knowledge and so can other youth in their expertise. This sense of sharing knowledge boosts their confidence as well and make them a efficient leader.

However, the speaker ignores that the sense of competition in youth makes them better in their work and therefore be a better leader. Since there is only one who can handle everyone in a group, the sense of competition is essential to find out who that person is in a group.

In sum, the statement correctly states that the cooperation is essential for youth as it can help in building confidence to work in team and therefore synergy in their work. However, the statement overlooks students the sense of competition in youth can make them better in leadership because there is only one leader to help in cooperation. Therefore, both cooperation and competition in youth is essential for leadership quality development.