To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To fathom people, society and their culture, it is crucial to deeply understand how they function as a whole. According to the prompt, major cities must be studied, to understand nature of the society. I mostly disagree with the prompt due to these three reasons.

Firstly, major cities has people staying from different places which disrupts the conclusion drawn about the society. The cosmopolitan nature of the major cities makes it difficult to extract the original nature of the society. For instance, New York which , a major city of USA, has people from all around the world. Studying about the people staying in the New York cannot give overall outlook about the characteristics of the society in the USA. Moreover, the originality of the society is changed due to amalgam of people trying to fit into the major cities. Therefore, major cities doesn't alone help to understand characteristics of the society.

Also, original nature of the society is mostly reserved in the bucolic places where people preserve and still practice their culture. Each place has it’s own uniqueness and culture making them standout from each other. For example, Texas has cowboy culture in the countryside where as Dallas, a major city of Texas, has few people who practice their indigenous culture. The original culture is of cowboy and horse riding is practiced only in the countryside. Thus, to have a clear understanding about the culture of the society it is essential to study the places where native culture is preserved.

However, major cities have people from all around the places coming together to form a heterocultural society. The changes and new form of culture can be understood when we study the change in the culture. For example, youth who follow the culture into the future stay at the cosmopolitan places for opportunities. We can study many people and their practice at once if we study the major city which has cosmopolitan society. Thus, we can know a lot of culture at once if we study a major city.

All in all, if we study a whole place the understanding of the culture can be too tedious and studying a major city to draw out the general culture of the whole place can remove originality of the culture.