Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In the past, educational institutions played a vital role in guiding students due to limited careers to choose from. Today, however, that is not the case : there are a plethora of career options to choose from which should not be guided like before. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the given prompt which emphasizes on encouraging students to choose money making careers.

Firstly, in this constantly changing world, where the use of the internet is growing profusely, it is not a great option to choose among the money making careers. In addition, there are a huge mass of people who are running a race to find a secure career which will allow them to afford an affluent lifestyle. This makes it difficult for students to accurately predict whether the lucrative career in the present will yield the promised amount in future. For instance, during the 1990's when the first computer was invented, educational institutions mainly highlighted the hardware portion of computer science causing more people to opt for hardware engineering. Later after five to six years, the demand for hardware engineers was minimal with very high competition. Thus, it is essential to focus on the right option to study rather than preparing for lucrative careers.

Further, to achieve success in life a person should have passion for what they do in life. Steve Jobs in one of his interviews said “ To be the best one among a huge mass, you have to know your passion. Otherwise, everything you do will be an enervating task for you”. As suggested by one of the legends, who followed his passion and became successful in every part of the field he worked on. It is essential to have an interest in working relentlessly. Moreover, we can also exemplify boxer Mohamad Ali, who was world champion for many years, loved what he chose to do throughout his life and thus made him successful. There are many other personalities like Warren Buffet, Bill Gates who dropped out but they excelled in whatever they did because they loved what they did. Therefore, it is essential to love the work you do rather than an educational institution teaching you which career path to follow.

Majority of people opt for the high salary jobs - ignoring the things they love to do, just because the career path they choose does not pay them highly. They consider the obsolete concept which focused on choosing high salary jobs with educational degrees. The world is changing and even without education people are earning huge chunks of money. Therefore, the prompt given is not valid for the changing generation and era.