The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

In this era, Learning is self-motivating activity where resources are everywhere so teaching with right attitude is essential. According to the give prompt, to induce a learning mentality it crucial to encourage the positive activities and outlook the negative ones. I mostly disagree with this prompt due to three reasons.

Firstly, if no negative aspect of the work is communicated to the learner by the teacher, student won’t improve. People should understand that the negative actions are the ones they make while learning and it will be stepping stone of them to improve in long run. For Instance, in toastmasters club which is group of individuals dedicated to improve public speaking, there negative actions are highlighted of the speakers after speech which makes them aware of the mistakes they are doing and it helps them to avoid those wrongdoing eventually leading them to become a confident public speaker. Thus, positive criticism is good if taken in a good sense because it makes learner aware of the mistakes they are doing and improve on that aspect.

Also, there is an idiom “Too much sweet is bitter “. Likewise, if a person is praised only for the good actions ignoring the negative one’s they tend to have a negligent attitude. They may think they know everything leading them to become presumptuous person. To illustrate, if a child is always praised by their parents, who are child’s first teacher, they tend to develop overconfident attitude in them. When they become adults and get to the real world, they are considered arrogant. Therefore, it is essential for making people aware that they are not perfect because if they only show positive side, they become a “know it all” kind of person.

Lastly, no one is expert in any field, even the expert is continuously learning. So, it is not justifiable to poke on the negative actions of the one who is shows interest to learn and trying. It sometimes demotivates the person when negative things are highlighted more often. For example, Barak Obama, in one of his interviews, said he hates math and often try to escape math questions because teacher in his mid-school used to continuously point on his mistakes, not ignoring his efforts to solve the math problem. These types of interest led him to deliberately skip math class and later he studied law where he required no math knowledge. Thus, it is crucial to make learner understand that there is good side of their work leading them to be consistent and never giving up on anything.

All in all, teaching is a complex process and it requires both pinpointing the negative and positive side by teacher. Balanced criticism and praise are required to motivate a person.