The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is good and bad to everything, and privilege also consist of the both good and bad to it. Some people can make good out of it while some get into it and loose them in the process. Given prompt suggest, the luxuries and conveniences of the lifestyle makes people drifted from their true self and I mostly disagree with it.

Firstly, Rich people have access to better lifestyle and better experience which leads them towards developing confidence and broad perspective. The book rich dad poor dad summarize - rich people have more access to the resources and profundity. Due to which they develop a strong personality with lots of confidence. In the book itself, the poorer one was diffident due to lack of experience and exposure to the high-end resources. Also, We can take example of Indian billionaire, Mukesh Ambani, who had access to one of the best life due to his father who was millionaire at the time. He didn’t drift apart from his passion and roles. Instead, he took advantage of the privileged and became one of the richest person in the world which itself proves his strong mindset and personality. Thus, richer with more access to the knowledge and resources are more likely to transform into a strong individual.

Further, the people who are into luxury tend to get bored with their life in long run if they do not know what they want to achieve. So, they in search of true self tend to look into different type of lifestyle. Since they already have experienced the high-end life, they are not afraid to explore and learn from other side of the struggle. For instance, Gautam Buddha, who was the prince with all the luxuries, wanted to explore himself and learn about enlightenment. He was so bored by the luxuries that he thought of doing some more and achieve something in life. Moreover, he felt stagnant in life because of his routine which included all the convenience. To add, we can take example of the rich people who tend to visit less developed contries and explore the non-luxuries life to learn from it. Thus, the luxury doesn’t make people to lose their personality. Instead, it makes them curious about other type of life after they hit a plateau.

Luxuries and conveniences, however, in some case, make people dependent, mainly those are spoon-fed by their seniors making them not so successful in their life. In contrast, those who are from poor family without a good lifestyle tend to achieve more in their life. They normally outstrip the people who are more indulged into the luxuries life. For example, Donald trump was born in luxury because his father was a millionaire. He is doing okay in his life. While Warren Buffet, who was born in village with little access to the luxuries life is more successful and independent than the Donald Trump who is not respected as an individual by majority of people because of his ill personality. Moreover, we can also take example of actress Lindsay Lohan who got bad exposure in her life due to luxuries and convenient lifestyle. Meanwhile, those who had to struggle made it into the top. Therefore, luxuries can make people go into the wrong track but in contrast gives those without luxuries to grow and evolve into a better and confident people.

To sum, luxury plays a huge role in the persona of an individual. To get into a right track and be a responsible individual they need to appreciate whatever they have. Not every individual is the same, so luxury and convenient life also brings out different personality in them.