The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national

news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the

complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather

and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night

news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to

attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,

we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The author claims that scheduling the TV shows back to local and weather news instead of national news will help in revenue retention for local business and increase customer volume. To support this conclusion, he cites various evidences regarding the issue. Although the evidences appear to bolster the author’s contention to switch TV shows back to former level, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. So the author needs to cite the following specific evidences to make the argument more sound:1) reason for local business for withdrawing their advertising contract. 2) whether there are other TV station in local attracting their customer. 3) volume of local and weather news for the place on a day-to-day basis.

First, the author assumes that local businesses are canceling their advertising because of late night national news coverage. It may be possible that the local businesses they were working with are not doing good and closing down. Perhaps they are trying to cut down their expenses from advertising. If any of the above reason is true for local businesses then the author’s conclusion is considered flawed.

Second, information regarding competitive TV station should also be analyzed. To attract more customers, TV station perhaps should understand what their competitions are broadcasting and then create a concrete plan to attract those customers. If competitors are also focused on national news and are able to increase customers, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, volume of local and weather news available for the place should be analyzed before switching back to former. If weather and local news volume is considerably less and could not cover the TV time then customer might be again switching to another TV broadcast. Depending on availability of the news, author’s assertation could be bolstered or enervated.

In sum, the author needs to provide more information about customer preferences rather than blatantly switching back to former format. Valid and direct information from customer as well as local businesses should be presented in the argument to strengthen it. Without these information, the author cannot convenience me on the claim.